Wednesday, April 18th, 2018

The House met at 10:00 o'clock in the morning pursuant to adjournment.

Pursuant to order and on motion debate continued on the motion "That this House approves in general the budgetary policy of the Government" (the Budget Speech) and on motion debate was adjourned for further debate on tomorrow.

Pursuant to Standing Order 9(1)(b) the sitting was suspended at 12:30 p.m. The Speaker resumed the Chair at 2:00 o'clock in the afternoon.

The Member for St. George's – Humber (Mr. Reid) made a Statement to pay tribute to the late Calvin Cormier.

The Member for Virginia Waters – Pleasantville (Mr. Davis) made a Statement to recognize the contribution to Vanier School, Anna Ross, coordinator of the breakfast programme.

The Member for Topsail – Paradise (Mr. Paul Davis) made a Statement to congratulate Michael Tobin who was named one of Canada's Most Outstanding Principals.

The Member for Exploits (Mr. Dean) made a Statement to acknowledge the role played by the community of Norris Arm in response to the attack against the United States on September 11, 2001.

The Member for Torngat Mountains (Mr. Edmunds) made a Statement to recognize Mr. Barry Sheppard and Ms. Natalie Anderson who by their heroic efforts saved the lives of two people.

The Honourable the Minister of Service NL (Ms. Gambin-Walsh) made a Statement to inform the House that Government had launched their part of the consultation process relating to the auto insurance review being carried out by the Public Utilities Board.

The Honourable the Minister of Health and Community Services (Mr. Haggie) made a Statement to recognize April as Cancer Awareness Month.

The Honourable the Minister of Justice and Public Safety (Mr. Parsons) made a Statement to announce a new Royal Newfoundland Constabulary detachment for the Town of Conception Bay South.

Wednesday, April 18th, 2018

The Member for Conception Bay South (Mr. Petten) presented a Petition from certain residents of the Province calling upon the House of Assembly to urge Government to allocate funds to upgrade Route 60.

The Member for Topsail – Paradise (Mr. Davis) presented a Petition (not certified) from certain residents of the Province calling upon the House of Assembly to urge Government to allocate funds to upgrade Route 60.

The Honourable the Minister of Transportation and Works (Mr. Crocker) replied to the Petition.

Pursuant to order and on motion debate commenced and concluded on the following Resolution standing in the name of the Member for Topsail – Paradise (Mr. Davis):

"WHEREAS the Trudeau Government intends to legalize marijuana in 2018 even though many important questions about the impact of legalization have still not been answered:

AND WHEREAS Newfoundlanders and Labradorians deserve answers to such questions prior to legalization;

BE IT RESOLVED that this Honourable House calls on the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador to promptly release its analyses of the impacts of legalization on Newfoundland and Labrador, including the social, medical, fiscal, economic. legal, penal, educational, residential and cross-jurisdictional impacts;

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this Honourable House calls on the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador to urge the Government of Canada to delay marijuana legalization unless both levels of Government can assure Newfoundlanders and Labradorians that effective measures are in place to:

- a) inform people of the impacts of legalization;
- b) monitor, evaluate and respond to the impacts in real time;
- c) address any social and medical consequences as they arise;
- d) protect people from marijuana-impaired drivers;
- e) protect people from second-hand exposure to marijuana products; and
- f) compensate our Province promptly and fully for any net negative fiscal impacts of legalization."

The Speaker put the question on the Resolution.

The House divided.

Wednesday, April 18th, 2018

There appeared in favour of the motion: Mr. Paul Davis, Mr. Hutchings, Ms. Perry, Mr. Kevin Parsons, Mr. Petten, Mr. Lester.

Against: Mr. Andrew Parsons, Ms. Coady, Mr. Byrne, Mr. Haggie, Mr. Hawkins, Mr. Crocker, Mr. Osborne, Mr. Kirby, Mr. Mitchelmore, Mr. Warr, Mr. Bernard Davis, Ms. Gambin-Walsh, Mr. Edmunds, Ms. Dempster, Mr. Letto, Mr. Browne, Mr. Bragg, Ms. Haley, Mr. Derek Bennett, Ms. Cathy Bennett, Mr. Finn, Mr. Reid, Mr. King, Mr. Dean, Ms. Pam Parsons, Mr. Holloway, Ms. Michael, Mr. Lane.

The Speaker declared the Resolution defeated.

The Speaker then adjourned the House until Thursday, 1:30 p.m., pursuant to Standing Order 9.

Sandra Barnes, Clerk of the House of Assembly.