Labelloy the Hon. The Speaker 2019-11-18
Texphellmenthy

House of Assembly Newfoundland and Labrador

Minutes of the House of Assembly Management Commission

Date: September 25, 2019

Location: HOA Committee Room

Time: 9:30 am

Members Present:

Mr. Scott Reid, Deputy Speaker (Chair)

Hon. Andrew Parsons, Government House Leader (via teleconference)

Mr. David Brazil, Opposition House Leader

Hon. Siobhan Coady, MHA (Lib), St. John's West

Ms. Alison Coffin, MHA (NDP), St. John's East-Quidi Vidi

Mr. Elvis Loveless, MHA (Lib), Fortune Bay-Cape La Hune

Mr. Barry Petten, MHA (PC), Conception Bay South

Ms. Sandra Barnes, Clerk of the House of Assembly

Other

Ms. Bobbi Russell, Policy & Communications Officer

As required by the *House of Assembly Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act*, a decision made at an *in camera* meeting held on July 23, 2019 was reported into the public record as follows:

The Commission approved recommending to the Lieutenant Governor in Council that the new Information and Privacy Commissioner be compensated at EP-10, Step 18, with regular step increases to apply.

The following decision from an *in camera* meeting held prior to regular meeting on September 25, 2019 was also reported into the public record:

CM 2019-019

The Commission, at an *in camera* meeting, approved the renewal of the lease for premises occupied by the Office of the Information and Privacy Commissioner for a further term of 5 years under the same terms and conditions contained in the present lease dated October 31, 2014. The lease is to be between the Lessor (Newfoundland and Labrador Housing Corporation) and Her Majesty the Queen in Right of the House of Assembly as represented by the Speaker. The Commission also approved a pre-commitment of funds of \$114,839.00 per annum for fiscal years 2020-21, 2021-22, 2022-23 & 2023-24.

CM 2019-020 The Minutes of the Commission meeting held on July 23, 2019 were approved as read.

A report from the Clerk was presented to the Commission outlining approvals for expenditures on furniture and equipment as delegated under the Standard Office Allocation Package for Members and Constituency Assistants. An expenditure of \$527.84 was reported for Mr. Chris Tibbs, MHA for Grand Falls-Windsor-Buchans.

The financial reports for the Legislature for the periods April 1, 2019 to June, 2019 were provided to the Commission for review. The Members' Accountability and Disclosure Reports were provided for the same period.

- CM 2019-021 Pursuant to subsection 43(2) of the *House of Assembly Accountability, Integrity* and Administration Act, the Commission appointed the Auditor General of Newfoundland and Labrador to audit the accounts of the House of Assembly and the Statutory Offices for the 2019-20 fiscal year.
- CM 2019-022 The Commission approved the audited financial information for April 1, 2018 to March 31, 2019 for the House of Assembly and Statutory Offices, as recommended by the Audit Committee.
- CM 2019-023 Pursuant to subparagraph 20(6)(b)(ii) of the House of Assembly Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act, the Commission approved an amendment to the following House of Assembly policies/guidelines to replace references to the previous Public Tender Act with Public Procurement Act:
 - Inventory Management Policy
 - Policy for Hiring of External Consultants
 - Printing Policy for Members of the House of Assembly
 - Purchasing Policy Under \$200
- CM 2019-024 The Commission deferred a decision with respect to a policy on the reimbursement of legal fees pending further analysis to be brought back to a future meeting for consideration
- CM 2019-025 The Commission deferred a decision with respect to caucus funding pending further analysis to be brought back to a future meeting for consideration.

CM 2019-026

The Commission directed that the \$200/month vehicle allowance option for intra-constituency travel provided to Members in Capital region districts and the Corner Brook district continue as provided for in Section 38 of the *Members' Resources and Allowances Rules*, with the matter to be referred to the next Members' Compensation Review Committee.

Adjournment: 11:30 am

Mr. Scott Reid

Deputy Speaker (Chair)

Sandra Barnes

Clerk and Secretary to the Commission