

House of Assembly Newfoundland and Labrador

Minutes of the House of Assembly Management Commission

Date: April 23, 2013 **Location:** House of Assembly Chamber **Time:** 5:30 p.m.

Members Present:

Hon. Ross Wiseman, Speaker Ms. Sandra Barnes, Clerk of the House of Assembly Ms. Lorraine Michael, MHA (NDP) Signal Hill - Quidi Vidi Mr. Vaughn Granter, MHA (PC) Humber West Hon. Joan Shea, MHA (PC) St. Georges – Stephenville Mr. Dwight Ball, MHA (L) Humber Valley Mr. Andrew Parsons, MHA (L) Burgeo-LaPoile

Other

Mr. Wade Verge, MHA (PC), Lewisporte, Deputy Speaker Ms. Bobbi Russell, Policy, Planning & Research Analyst, Clerk's Office

Regrets

Hon. Darin King, Government House Leader

CM 2013-035	The Minutes of the House of Assembly Management Commission
	meeting held on March 20, 2013 were approved as read.
CM 2013-036	The Commission, pursuant to subsection 24(9) of the House of
	Assembly Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act, approved
	expense claims totaling \$84.74 for the Member for Burgeo-LaPoile

which were submitted by the Member later than the 60-day deadline as required under subsection 7(6) of the *Members' Resources and Allowances Rules*.

CM 2013-037 The Commission, pursuant to subsection 24(9) of the *House of Assembly Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act*, approved expense claims totaling \$78.04 and \$79.54 for the Member for Mount Pearl North which were submitted by the Member later than the 60day deadline as required under subsection 7(6) of the *Members' Resources and Allowances Rules*.

CM 2013-038 The Commission, pursuant to subsection 24(9) of the *House of* Assembly Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act, approved expense claims totaling \$420.00 for the Member for St. John's South which were submitted by the Member later than the 60-day deadline as required under subsection 7(6) of the Members' Resources and Allowances Rules.

CM 2013-039 The Commission, pursuant to subsection 24(9) of the *House of* Assembly Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act, approved expense claims totaling \$118.00 for the Member for Trinity-Bay de Verde which were submitted by the Member later than the 60-day deadline as required under subsection 7(6) of the Members' Resources and Allowances Rules.

CM 2013-040 The Commission, pursuant to subsection 24(9) of the *House of Assembly Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act*, approved expense claims totaling \$169.50 for the Member for Trinity North which were submitted by the Member later than the 60-day deadline as required under subsection 7(6) of the *Members' Resources and Allowances Rules*. CM 2013-041The Commission, pursuant to paragraph 23(2)(a) of the House of
Assembly Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act, appointed
Mr. Andrew Parsons, MHA Burgeo-LaPoile, as a member of the
Audit Committee, effective immediately.

CM 2013-042 The Commission, pursuant to subsections 20(7) and 15(5), and sections 20 and 64 of the *House of Assembly Accountability, Integrity and Administration Act*, gave final approval to the following proposed amendments to the *Members' Resources and Allowances Rules*, subject to final wording by the Office of the Legislative Counsel:

1. Section 10 of the *Members' Resources and Allowances Rules* is amended by adding immediately after subsection (2) the following:

"(2.1) Subsection (2) does not apply to an allowance claimed under subsection 19(4)."

2. Subsections 18(2), (3) and (4) of the Rules are repealed and the following is substituted:

"(2) A member is entitled to the constituency office accommodation expenses described in subsection 19(1).

(3) The maximum allowance available to a member for office operations and supplies is \$12,000."

3. Subsection 19(1) of the Rules is amended by deleting the words and figures:

"allowance referred to in paragraph 18(2)(a)" and substituting the words and figures "expenses referred to in subsection 18(2)".

- 4. Subsection 20(7) of the Rules is repealed.
- 5. The Rules are amended by adding immediately after section 33 the following:

"33.1 (1) Notwithstanding sections 31 and 33, a member whose permanent residence is outside the

capital region at a distance greater than commuting distance may opt to travel between that residence and the capital region each day that the House of Assembly is in session and sitting and may claim the actual transportation cost of each daily return trip.

(2) A member who opts to claim an actual transportation cost for a day under subsection (1) cannot claim for costs described in paragraphs 31(1)(b) and (c) and 33(1)(b) and (c).

(3) This section shall apply only to members who represent the Districts of:

a) Bellevue
b) Carbonear-Harbour Grace
c) Ferryland
d) Harbour Main
e) Placentia-St. Mary's
f) Port de Grave; and
g) Trinity-Bay de Verde.

- 6. Subsection 38(3) is amended by adding immediately after the word "*Schedule*" the letter "*A*".
- 7. The Rules are amended by adding immediately after section 38 the following:

"Helicopter travel

38.1 (1) Where less expensive travel is not available a member from a district listed in Schedule B may, with the prior approval of the Speaker, be reimbursed for the cost of helicopter travel while acting on constituency business within his or her constituency.

(2) The maximum amount which a member may claim in a fiscal year for intra-constituency travel under this section is the amount set out in Schedule B.

8. Subsection 46(3) is amended by adding immediately before paragraph (f) the following:

"(e.2) the expense of renting short term accommodation in one or more locations in the member's constituency to facilitate travel of the member throughout the district to meet with residents on constituency issues;

9. The Schedule to the Act is repealed and the following is substituted:

Schedule A House Operations Estimates of Intra-Constituency Costs

Riding No.	Riding Name	Total
1	Baie Verte-Springdale	\$10,100
2	Bay of Islands	12,500
3	Bellevue	13,100
4	Bonavista North	10,100
5	Bonavista South	10,100
6	Burgeo-LaPoile	11,300
7	Burin-Placentia West	8,200
8	Cape St. Francis	7,200
9	Carbonear-Harbour Grace	7,700
10	Cartwright-L'Anse au Clair	25,600
11	Conception Bay East-Bell Island	7,700
12	Conception Bay South	7,200
13	Exploits	10,100
14	Ferryland	10,100
15	Fortune Bay-Cape La Hune	16,300
16	Gander	7,700
17	Grand Bank	12,000
18	Grand Falls-Windsor-Buchans	9,100
19	Grand Falls-Windsor-Green Bay South	7,200
20	Harbour Main	6,900
21	Humber East	6,300
22	Humber Valley	12,000
23	Humber West	8,200
24	Kilbride	7,200
25	Labrador West	7,700
26	Lake Melville	8,000
27	Lewisporte	9,200
28	Mount Pearl North	6,000
29	Mount Pearl South	6,000
30	Placentia-St. Mary's	11,500
31	Port au Port	6,800
32	Port de Grave	7,700
33	Signal Hill-Quidi Vidi	6,000
34	St. Barbe	11,900
35	St. George's-Stephenville East	7,700
36	St. John's Centre	6,000
37	St. John's East	6,000
38	St. John's North	6,000
39	St. John's South	6,000
40	St. John's West	6,000
41	Terra Nova	10,200
42	The Isle of Notre Dame	9,800
		,

43	The Straits-White Bay North	10,100
44	Topsail	6,000
45	Torngat Mountains	20,700
46	Trinity-Bay de Verde	8,600
47	Trinity North	8,200
48	Virginia Waters	6,000

Total

<u>\$442,000</u>

Schedule B Helicopter Allocation

Electoral District	Total
Burgeo-LaPoile	\$21,000
Cartwright-L'Anse au Clair	21,000
Fortune Bay-Cape La Hune	24,600
Torngat Mountains	10,500

Adjournment: 5:42 p.m. Hon. Ross Wiseman, MHA Speaker and Chair

Sandra Barnes Clerk and Secretary to the Commission